Mumbai, without breaking the norm, lost the opening match this year too

Mumbai’s routine of losing the inaugural match since 2013 has not gone wrong this time either. Chennai’s 5-wicket win today marks the seventh consecutive year that Mumbai’s opening match has ended in defeat.

photo 2020 09 20 10 27 57

Mumbai had last won their first match against Chennai in 2012. The team won by eight wickets that day. Mumbai, who lost to Bangalore by 2 runs in 2013 and lost by 41 runs to Kolkata in 2014, lost the opening matches in the following years.

In 2015, Mumbai lost to Kolkata again. Kolkata won by seven wickets. The team that lost to Rising Pune Supergiants by 9 wickets in 2016 lost to the same team again in 2017. Pune won by 7 wickets that day.

photo 2020 09 20 10 32 44

In 2018, it was the Chennai Super Kings who brought Mumbai to their knees. Chennai won by one wicket. Last year, Mumbai lost to Delhi Capitals by 37 runs.

Even if the start is shaky, the fans will not pay much attention to this setback as Mumbai are on the verge of winning 4 titles this season. Although the team did not win the playoffs in 2016 and 18, the team was able to win the championship in 2013, 15, 17, and 19.

  • Mumbai Indians yet to register a win in UAE and It’s their sixth consecutive loss.
  • After five consecutive losses to Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings have turned the tables and win the IPL2020 opener.

MS Dhoni in IPL:

photo 2020 09 20 10 27 42
  • 2019: The first captain to register 100 wins.
  • 2020: The first captain to register 100 wins for the same team.

MS Dhoni becomes the first wicket keeper to reach 250 dismissals in T20 history.