IPL 2020- Champions don’t even have the price of Cummins Prize money is only half.

The 13th season of the IPL is nearing its climax. The only thing left to do is fight for the title. Defending champions Mumbai Indians will take on defending champions Delhi Capitals in the final in Dubai on Tuesday.

It is worth noting that the team that becomes champions this time will receive only half of the prize money compared to previous seasons. The BCCI had decided to halve the prize money this time as compared to the previous season. The BCCI had earlier informed all the eight franchises about this. The board made the cuts because of Kovid and the subsequent financial hardship.

Earlier, the prize money given to the champions was Rs 20 crore. But this time the winning team will get only Rs 10 crore. The runner-up will get only Rs 6.25 crore this season as against Rs 12.5 crore earlier. Surprisingly, the prize money for the champions is less than the earnings for some players this season.

Kolkata Knight Riders’ Australian pacer Pat Cummins has been paid Rs 15.5 crore. He was also the most expensive player in the auction last season. In addition to Cummins, Kings XI Punjab’s Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell and Royal Challengers Bangalore’s South African all-rounder Chris Morris are also the highest paid IPL champions. Maxwell was paid Rs 10.75 crore and Morris Rs 10 crore in the last auction.

The two teams that lost in the qualifiers this season will get Rs 4.375 crore each. The BCCI has not yet announced the prize money for the winners of the Orange Cap for the tournament’s top scorer, the Purple Cap for the highest wicket-taker and the Emerging Player. Last season, the winners of the Orange Cap and Purple Cap received Rs 10 lakh each. The same amount was given to the emerging player.